top of page

Jocelyn Buchanan Interview EPK Questions


 

Jocelyn Buchanan Interview EPK Questions

  1. What Is Rhythm and Inspiration and what made you want be the pioneer this new genre?

  2. Answer:

Rhythm and Inspiration is inspiring lyrics over rhythmic beats, this can be in any genre, whether it be gospel, country, rock, as long as our message is of inspiration. We wanted to start a new movement which consists of inspiring people to want to go to the next level and at the same time, uplift, not put down anyone….

  1. What is the meaning behind the song Finish Line and the album?

  2. Answer:

Finish line is a song that’s close to my heart because it inspired me to keep going. Many times, I’ve almost made it to my goal, got right to the door to open it and was too scared to open the door. This message in this song is to help people open and actually walk through that door instead of turning around and going backwards because of fear.

  1. What is it like working with Dre-ILL Buchanan your producer and manager as well as your brother?

  2. Answer:

It was definitely an experience. First I had to learn how to work with him as a producer and separate the fact that he is my brother. That was hard, having him tell me what to do. We both come with our own expertise that we had to blend together. But once we finally gelled, our chemistry was/is awesome. He knows me and I know him. It has not been an easy road, but he definitely pushes me to do better and we continue to learn from each other.

  1. What is the concept behind Breathe?

  2. Answer:

LOLOLOL Breathe is what I call a mental aerobics for the mind, and soul. Just like we have workouts for our physical self, Breathe is the mental workout and getting in shape mentally. The concept behind breathe is to find an alternative way to handle our situations instead of what we’re using to doing when situations arrive. Breathing helps you think better before you react.

  1. What was it like when you won your first independent music award?

  2. Answer:

It was validation that we’re headed in the right direction. The moment was surreal and exciting and humbling at the same time.

  1. What do enjoy about performing?

  2. Answer:

I enjoy performing jazz music. I really enjoyed performing when I was in the group because I love, love, love singing harmonies. It’s just something about putting notes together to make one beautiful sound. That’s what I really love.

  1. Where did the concept form Choices come from?

  2. Answer:

Choices, just like breathe, give you alternative solutions to situations. People go through trials and challenges all the time. How you respond to them speaks to your growth.

  1. Your appearance on the Oprah Winfrey show. What was that like?

  2. Answer:

I’m still in awe of Ms. Winfrey encouraging me to do this. Being highlighted on her “Don’t’ Stop Believing” show. Her words actually inspired me to go further with my dreams because believe me I was getting really comfortable with working at her Foundation. But just like she has to keep elevating herself, so did I and here we are.

  1. What was it like when you were signed to Motown and Death Row Records?

  2. Answer:

It was an awesome experience being signed to both labels because I learned a lot while I was with BGOTI. I gained wonderful knowledge. I met and worked with awesome people in the industry and learned a lot from them.

  1. Are you inspired by any other artist out there former or present?

  2. Answer:

I’m inspired by many of the old school artists because their messages mean something. I respect today’s artists but I am inspired by Whitney, Patti, Gladys, Ella, Nina Simone.

  1. Do you have a favorite song from your catalog

  2. Answer:

I love all of the songs on this album. I really love Finish Line because I wrote that song to encourage myself as well as others not to stop on your journey due to fear, due to doubters, due to self-confidence.

  1. How do you deal with the struggle of everyone trying to place your music in one box when you have worked so hard to be out of the box?

  2. Answer:

I don’t really have a problem with it because we know this is something new or a new concept we’re trying to pioneer. It may take a while for people to get it, but as long as they’re feeling our music that’s all that matters. They’ll get it eventually.

  1. Where do you get your music talents from?

  2. Answer:

I get it from both sides of the family. My mother’s side of the family is the Staple singers and on my father’s side, every person in my family can sing.

  1. What is the concept behind Your Brand New Lady?

  2. Answer:

Your Brand New Lady is for every lady who continues to find themselves and become more than what/who people say they are. Or for ladies who transform themselves into someone new trying to become who they know they were meant to be. Dropping all of their fears, insecurities and do what they know they need to do to reach their dreams.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page